Meet the team!

Next year marks 150 years for The Salvation Army and as most of you know I’m here helping in the planning process for the International Congress.  Pictured below is IHQ where all the pre-magic has/is/will be happening.  It’s also where the General of The Salvation Army works when he’s not out on the field traveling and meeting with officers and soldiers around the world.  Did I mention in my last post that during chapel two weeks ago he walked in and sat down directly in front of us?!  That was our first time seeing him since arriving so we were all a little awestruck.  And yes, incase you were wondering he really is a nice and friendly guy.

         DSC_0398

Getting back on track now.  The prep for Boundless 2015 started two years ago with a team of just two.  Lt. Col’s Eddie & Kathy Hobgood were appointed to coordinate the International Congress by then General Linda Bond.  

the bosses

(Eddie is picture right above my head and Kathy is at the end of the line.)

Eddie & Kathy are from the USA Southern Territory and some of you may recognize Eddie from his performances as Joe the Turk.  We’ve only really known them for a couple of weeks, but they are great.  Kathy reminds me of a southern version of Cheryl Kinnamon, which means she brings a lot of fun to an otherwise very quiet building.  Eddie is a man of many talents, clearly he loves acting/musicals and as I quickly realized can speak spanish pretty fluently!  Another fun fact about Eddie, he was at ICO with Mike Dickinson and because of that I actually met the Hobgood’s last January while delivering lots of SweetTarts to Eddie on behalf of the Dickinson’s.  Looking forward to getting to know them more as the months go by.

A little over a year ago the Congress Office grew to include more than just the Hobgood’s.  They were able to welcome 3 full time employee’s to help with many aspects of the Congress. 

robert

 

Meet Robert.  I’ve only actually worked with Robert for a week as he went on holiday shortly after we got here, but he’s a great guy which is great since our desks are next to each other!  Robert is in charge of logistics, contracts, etc.  I will be getting to work with Robert and look forward to learning from his business ways.  He may seem serious to many, but I’ve enjoyed our few morning chats that prove otherwise.

 

LouiseThis is Louise.  I think it’d be easier to tell you what Louise is not working on.  She’s definitely a hard worker that’s for sure!  One of her duties was getting everything organized for us to be apart of the Congress Office.  Now that she’s gotten us here and put us to work, she will be focusing on volunteer’s for the Congress and delegate affairs, along with other little projects.  Fun fact about Louise, she does a bit of running herself so she’s been able to help point me in some race direction ways while I’m here.  

Peter

 

 

And the last of the Fab 5 is Peter.  He is the website and design graphics guy, who has also been in charge of the registration process for Boundless.  He also does work on loads of other things.  Peter actually attends Romford Corps which is the Corps I was at in 2012 for the Olympic Mission team, so we actually know a few of the same people, which is kind of cool.  But…we didn’t know each other before my first day at IHQ.  Why is that you say if I was at Romford?  Well because during that time Peter and his family were on holiday in the states, in California nonetheless!  It’s been great getting to know him and talk sports, etc.

The Fab 5 have spent the last year getting all the ground work set up; finding the venue, performances, contracts, etc.


Skip ahead to August 2014 and the Congress Office welcomed ‘the boundless 8’ to help with the planning for the International Congress. 

jeremiah Jeremiah- he knows his movies, likes to act, likes working out and will always choose more dessert over veggies any day.

 

alexaAlexa- Is a mixture of Capt. Shevaun Malone and my friend Sarah K.  So what is not to like about her.  She went home for a few days to be the maid of honor in her best friends wedding and we definitely missed having her around.  Things were so much quieter with her not around to make us laugh.

CameronCameron- or as I like to call him…crazy New Zealander.  I’ve learned quickly that it’s easy for Cameron to get confused by what I’m actually saying and make up something else.  Which is how I almost lost him on the tube two weeks ago, but it led for a great story.  Fun fact about Cameron, he has a pillow pet he was given by people back at home and it’s currently at our office.

kelly

 

Kelly- is probably the fastest talker I’ve ever met in my life.  Like whoa! She’s also awalking encyclopedia, she just retains so much of what she reads.  I wish I could be a little more like that.

suzanne

 

 

Suzanne- has only been here for aweek with us and I’m pretty sure she thinks we are all crazy.  And by all of us, I mean those of us not in the Fab 5.  She’s also the youngest member on our team.

MejeeJodi

 

 

 

 

Mejee & Jodi- first off…they are married and both super nice.  Mejee is my fellow introvert, though he’s still a little more outgoing than me.  Out of everyone in our group I’ve known him the longest.  Jodi pretty much grew up in Hawaii so she knows a thing or two about hula and it’s going to be my goal to get her to teach me during the year.

 

So there’s the team.  I’ve attached a link to a story that IHQ did on us if you’d like to take a gander.  It’ll give you more of the facts on us, where did we come from, why did we apply, etc.

http://www.salvationarmy.org/ihq/news/inf290814

It’s a good group of people to be around, work with and learn from each other.  It’s going to be a great year in the Congress Office!

 

Leave a comment